Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

June 3, 2021

The Honorable Merrick B. Garland Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20530 The Honorable Lisa Monaco Deputy Attorney General U.S. Department of Justice 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20530

Dear Attorney General Garland and Deputy Attorney General Monaco:

As Members of the Labor Caucus, we write to express our deep and urgent concern regarding the Department of Justice's (DOJ) policy regarding the right of immigration judges to be represented by a union.

The Trump Administration was ideologically hostile to collective bargaining. President Trump himself issued three executive orders in 2018 that undermined public sector unions and the statutory right of federal employees to be represented by unions. Under then-Attorney General Barr, DOJ also took steps to effectuate President Trump's opposition to collective bargaining by filing a petition with the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) to exclude immigration judges from eligibility for membership in the National Association of Immigration Judges (NAIJ).

The NAIJ has been the recognized representative of immigration judges for collective bargaining purposes since 1979. For years NAIJ has advocated on behalf of immigration judges on many issues including performance evaluations and discipline, judicial security, COVID response, and efficient docket management. NAIJ's collective bargaining agreement has protected judges from unfair discipline. Further, NAIJ has advanced the causes of due process, transparency, accountability, efficiency, and professionalism in the Immigration Court.

DOJ's petition was denied by the FLRA's Office of General Counsel in July 2020. Attorney General Barr then filed an application for review, pursuant to which the previous denial was reversed by the two-member Republican FLRA majority just days before the election in November 2020. In his dissenting opinion, then-FLRA Member and current FLRA Chairman

¹ Exec. Order No. 13836, 83 Fed. Reg. 25329 (Jun. 1, 2018); Exec. Order No. 13837, 83 Fed. Reg. 25335 (Jun. 1, 2018); and Exec. Order No. 13839, 83 Fed. Reg. 25343 (Jun. 1, 2018).

Ernest DuBester characterized the majority decision as "the antithesis of reasoned decision making" and stated that "it is abundantly clear that the majority's sole objective is to divest the [immigration judges] of their statutory rights." NAIJ filed a motion to reconsider this ruling which is currently pending.

Elections have consequences. One of President Biden's first actions was to rescind the Trump anti-union executive orders. Now it is up to you to rescind former Attorney General Barr's anti-union petition with the FLRA. Should the FLRA's decision be allowed to stand, the ramifications and the legal basis for the decision will have an immediate negative effect on NAIJ and all its bargaining unit members. But it will have an equally, if not far more, profound impact on federal employees' right to form and join a union. Any professional employee will be vulnerable to being characterized as a manager because the FLRA decision is so broad and provides no rationale for the departure from its prior precedent.

We believe federal agencies should move forward in alignment with President Biden's values and directives in support of the right of employees to organize and join a union. Therefore, we urge you to rescind this anti-union petition before the FLRA.

Sincerely,

Rep. Mark Pocan Co-Chair, Labor Caucus Rep. Linda T. Sánchez Co-Chair, Labor Caucus Rep. Thomas R. Suozzi Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

Rep. Steven Horsford Co-Chair, Labor Caucus Rep. Donald Norcross Co-Chair, Labor Caucus Rep. Debbie Dingell Co-Chair, Labor Caucus

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress Judy Chu Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress John Garamendi Member of Congress

| Jesús G. "Chuy" García | Al Green | Raúl M. Grijalva |
|------------------------|------------------------------|-------------------------|
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Pramila Jayapal | Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. | Mondaire Jones |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Marcy Kaptur | Ro Khanna | Dan Kildee |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Brenda L. Lawrence | Barbara Lee | Andy Levin |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Alan Lowenthal | Grace Meng | Joe Neguse |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Marie Newman | Eleanor Holmes Norton | Frank Pallone, Jr. |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Jamie Raskin | Jan Schakowsky | Robert C. "Bobby" Scott |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |
| Darren Soto | Ritchie Torres | Nikema Williams |
| Member of Congress | Member of Congress | Member of Congress |

Cc: Hon. Kamala Harris, Vice President of the United States, Chair of the White House Task Force on Worker Organizing and Empowerment

Hon. Marty Walsh, United States Secretary of Labor, Vice Chair of the White House Task Force on Worker Organizing and Empowerment